UPDATED: Twitter Is Full Of Dumb C*nts

Donna Dickens
5 min readOct 15, 2018

UPDATE: November 2022

While not a fan of how this happened, I am officially back on Twitter. Under the new Musk regime, it has been determined that I did not break any Twitter rules. I’ll take my wins where I can get them.

UPDATE: July 2019

I’m not going to lie. I debated just letting this one go. Nothing is going to change. Twitter is too deep in their dysfunction to ever dig their way out. But with the algorithm still suspending folks for innocuous jokes or defending themselves against troll armies hellbent on mass reporting tweets as weaponized silencing, let’s take a look at what happens when you reach a real live person at Twitter.

Spoilers: Not much.

Back in May, seven months after my suspension, I finally reached a real person at Twitter. For transparency, here’s the email I sent.

Things started off with promise. The person I reached was sympathetic and acknowledged I was the victim of a dogpile.

But alas, it wouldn’t be enough. By that evening I was told “I had support look into this. They sent the three cases where you had written replies back to folks that were considered targeted harassment and in violation of our TOS. I know you were doing these in response to what you were getting and I hate that you were facing that on here. I totally understand the response.”

I asked if I could see what the other two “violations” were since I only knew about the one. No response. In order to “be fair” both victim and abuser must be treated the same is certainly…a choice. But wait, there’s more! Determined to at the very least get the Heard nude removed, I responded asking if that would happen since it was also clearly a TOS violation.

Crickets.

By June, I was ready to call out the big guns. Heard’s publicist. This was over two weeks after my last communication with Twitter when they ghosted me for demanding the stolen nude be removed. Shockingly, within hours of alerting Heard’s people, the image was finally — AFTER EIGHT MONTHS OF CONSISTENT REPORTING — taken down. While I’m not posting those emails to protect the privacy of Heard and her people, I’m happy to share them with any journalists that might be interested.

ORIGINAL ARTICLE

Hey guys,

I’ve had people asking me since Friday to write about what happened to me on Twitter, but Saturday was my 12-year wedding anniversary and quite frankly, getting our kids out of the house so we could play video games and get drunk was way more important than dealing with Johnny Depp stans (insane fans who need a life) descending like a swarm of dumb cunts in my Twitter mentions. But now it’s Monday and time for an explanation.

On October 12, I quote-tweeted a friend who was talking about how Depp is using his current movie to once again abuse Amber Heard. It said, and I quote “Johnny Depp is a piece of shit, pass it on.” Please note, many people passed it on.

This stirred up the hornet’s nest of loons who treat Depp’s history of abuse like tin-foil hats treat the moon landing. They came out swinging and, me being me, I swung back. With a huge thread showing that, based on things like time-stamps and facts, they were wrong about Heard’s movements the month Depp sliced off the tip of his finger, dipped is bloody hand in paint, and wrote crude shit about his wife on a mirror IN HIS OWN BLOOD. In the process, I called one of them a dumb cunt (because she is).

Shortly thereafter I found my account suspended. Since this has never happened to me before, I have no idea if it’s on a timer that will run out of if it’s forever. Oddly, the stans were also calling me a cunt. So is Twitter having an issue with the word dumb? Because cunt is a universal swear, not gendered. (Also, last I could check, Twitter still hadn’t removed the images of naked Amber Heard stolen from the “Fappening” hack that Depp’s stans were dropping into my mentions to discredit her because Cthulhu knows you can’t enjoy sex AND be abused /s.)

Shout out to Geek Girl Diva for collecting receipts while I was out of pocket!

Anyway, I have appealed my suspension with the following message sent using Twitter’s official form:

Hey there,

I sent in a form last night before I had received the email saying **WHY** I had been suspended. I definitely want to appeal as I’m not sure how me calling someone a “dumb cunt” at the beginning of a thread explaining why them searching out and harassing (and piling on with dozens of others) in my mentions was factually inaccurate.

Why does cursing out people engaged in targeted harassment get me suspended instead of their wandering groups? As a public figure I’ve had far worse slung at me, including y’all refusing subpoena when I was doxed, so I’m a tad shocked to find “cunt” is the line here. Especially since the same people were clearly able to call me that with impunity.

Looking forward to speaking to someone!
Donna

Should Twitter decided to get their heads out of their asses, I will return. If not? Oh well. I’ve been painfully addicted to the site for months, and it’s a poisoned well. The last 72 hours have been like waking up from a fucking nightmare in which you’re at a party with your friends and bunch of dumb cunts just keep breaking the windows and vomiting shit-covered bees on you. I’ve friended everyone I could think of that I actually interact with on Facebook.

If you’re a fan (sorry guys, only people I would be comfortable with seeing my kids photos get my private FB), you can follow me over here:

https://www.facebook.com/DonnaDickensMildlyAmused/

https://www.instagram.com/mildlyamused83/

Have a blessed day. Except for you, you fucking cunts.

--

--